Happiness Doesn’t Come from Money


Happiness does not come from money.  This may seem like a strange post coming from a blog that talks about growing wealthy, but it really doesn’t.  Each day I see a lot of people trying to chase happiness through new cars, expensive clothes, a promotion at work, an elaborate vacation, and it seems like each one of them is miserable.

The point of acquiring wealth is not that it will lead to happiness, but that it can lead to security and freedom, which is helpful when looking for happiness.  If you have enough income from investments, you will be able to quit your job and start your own business doing something you love.  Even if you love what you’re doing currently, you can live without worrying about layoffs or raises because you’ll have enough income to tide you over.

If you have enough wealth, you’ll be able to do things on the spur-of-the-moment like go to friend’s weddings in another state or other special events.  Maybe take a trip out to the coast for a weekend.  Maybe just go out to a nice restaurant for a special occasion.

Finally, when you get older and start needing things like medical care and assisted living, you’ll have the freedom to choose the care you want (assuming all of that freedom has not been taken away by that point through legislation).  You’ll be able to afford a live-in nurse, or the senior home that Medicare doesn’t pay for.  You’ll be able to pay for the surgeries that make life better.   You’ll also have the money in retirement to travel and enjoy life, rather than worrying about every dime.

The truth is, I feel sorry for the people with the new cars.  I think of the thousands of dollars they are losing each year on depreciation.  I feel sorry for the people with the expensive clothes.  I see that $100 shirt selling in a yard sale for fifty cents.    I feel bad for the people on lavish vacations who stick their kids in daycare or leave them with relatives (or a nanny) and miss out on the family time because they’re too busy “living the dream.”

Happiness doesn’t come from a store.  Happiness is enjoying and being thankful for what you have and giving some away to other individuals in times of need.  You build up wealth to create freedom, not happiness.

Please contact me via vtsioriginal@yahoo.com or leave a comment.

Follow me on Twitter to get news about new articles and find out what I’m investing in.  @SmallIvy_SI

Disclaimer: This blog is not meant to give financial planning or tax advice.  It gives general information on investment strategy, picking stocks, and generally managing money to build wealth. It is not a solicitation to buy or sell stocks or any security. Financial planning advice should be sought from a certified financial planner, which the author is not. Tax advice should be sought from a CPA.  All investments involve risk and the reader as urged to consider risks carefully and seek the advice of experts if needed before investing.

Picture Credits:  Michal Zacharzewski Downloaded from stock.xchng

5 thoughts on “Happiness Doesn’t Come from Money

  1. You really hit the nail on the head – it’s all about security and freedom, not things. I know people who have all the “things” and every month worry about how they are going to pay for it all. I’d rather go to sleep at night with a mind free of worry than drive around in a car or live in a house that I have to worry about all the time!

    • Thanks – and thanks for reading.

      I’ve actually started to feel bad for people I see in the trendy restaurants with their fancy clothes and gadgets. They always look so sad.

  2. This seems a bit of a stereotype. People with money who have nice cloths and eat in nice restaurants are sad and spend all their money trying to impress people? It’s the old “rich people are all evil / poor people are all good” mantra.

    I just got back from an “elaborate vacation” and trust me, I’m not “miserable”. I took my mom with me to thank her for all her years of hard work. We wore nice close and ate in fancy restaurants and made memories that will last a life time. I worked hard and saved up so I can enjoy the finer things in life. I believe the whole point of life it to thrive, not just survive. I work hard, invest and save so me and my family can enjoy nice cars, fun trips and good food.

    Does that make me sad? Am I missing your point?

    • I’m talking more about people who are living large on borrowed money. If you earn a lot of money, or have saved a lot and now have a good income because of your investments, bring out the gold plated convertible. Too many live one paycheck away from being out on the street, however, spending money in an effort to be happy. To me, most of these people don’t look happy because they’re too worried about keeping up their lifestyles.

      • I agree 100%. Never live beyond your means. The goal is to save and invest, so you can live within your means and enjoy the best life has to offer.

        I enjoy your blog!

Leave a Reply

